MainContent
:::

Sakaemachi, Honcho street houses

Sakaemachi, Honcho street houses
展品位置:Sakaemachi, Honcho street houses
Exhibition Track
Satisfaction
Themes:
Sections:
Transformations and The New Order > Modern Education and Culture > Taipei Capital
Keyword:
Sakaemachi, Honmachi, Taihoku New Park, Chongqing S. Rd., Hengyang Rd.
Object description:
Sakaemachi is today’s Hengyang Road in Taipei. During the Qing Dynasty, the west section was Ximen Street and the east section was Shifang Street. The original wooden houses were destroyed by the Taipei flood in 1910, and they were rebuilt as Baroque street houses. In 1922, Taipei underwent urban restructuring, in which the old street names were abolished and the machi system was implemented. Honmachi is the intersection of Chongqing S. Rd. and Hengyang Rd. in modern day Taipei, but before the machi system it was called Fuqian Street. There was a domed tower at the end of Honmachi, and during the Japanese era it was used as a fire station and vantage point in Taipei. The tower was also an important landmark in the city.
The area formed by Sakaemachi and Honmachi was the business center of Taihoku at the time, with companies and shops lining the streets, it was the most bustling and flourishing area during the Japanese era. The model presents life at the time by depicting elements such as the Tingzaijiao (arcade), goods carrier tricycles, bicycles, buses, wooden power pylons and an endless stream of pedestrians.
The intersection of Sakaemachi and Honmachi (modern day Chongqing S. Rd. and Hengyang Rd. intersection in Taipei) has four major shops, including Shinkodo Shoten, Okura, Nishio Company and Tsujiri Tea Shop. Shinkodo Shoten in Sakaemachi was the largest bookstore at the time, selling various textbooks, but also famous for its own publication of books and postcards. After 1945, it became The Eastern Publishing Co., Ltd. Adjacent to the Shinkodo Shoten were Dewa Store and Sato Clocks, which has a giant clock as its sign. Okura later became Cheng Chung Bookstore in 1945, and it is now known as the Cheng Chung Building. Nishio Company (now Kingstone) mainly sold printers and related supplies. Tsujiri Tea Shop was originally the Fuqian Street Post Office, and it was renamed Sakaemachi Post Office in 1922.
The street scenes of Honmachi and Sakaemachi often appeared on postcards during the Japanese era, as these were the most prosperous streets in Taipei City, with many lining on each side. The area along Sec.1 of Chongqing S. Rd. and Hengyang Rd. remains bustling with shops and people, continuing the thriving scene from the Japanese era.
Form:
Replica
Category:
Model

Related Exhibits

:::
National Museum of Taiwan History LOGO
Ministry of Culture LOGO
Facebook Fan Page

Copyright National Museum of Taiwan History All © 2011 National Museum of Taiwan History. All Rights reserved.
Locations: No.250, Sec 1, Changhe Rd., Annan District, Tainan City 70946, Taiwan
Tel: +886-6 -3568889 Fax: +886-6-3564981

榮町通、本町通街屋

主題:
建築
展區:
鉅變與新秩序 > 新教育與近代文化 > 島都臺北
類型:
模型
形式:
仿製品
物件描述:
榮町通為今日的衡陽路,清領時期西段為西門街,東段為石坊街。原有的木造平房於1910年(明治43年)臺北水災中被毀,遂全面改建為巴洛克風格街屋。1922年(大正11年)臺北城進行「市區改正」,廢市街名,實施町制。本町通為今重慶南路與衡陽路口區域,町名改正前為府前街。本町路底為有座圓頂高塔為消防詰所,是日治時期臺北消防的制高點,也是城市的重要地標。
本町通與榮町通所交織的這塊區域是臺北城商業中心,會社、商店林立為日治時期最繁華的街廓。街屋模型呈現出當時的生活情景,騎樓(亭仔腳)、腳踏式三輪貨車、自行車、公車巴士、現代化木質電線桿及絡繹不絕的行人。榮町通、本町通的交叉路口(今重慶南路、衡陽路口)主要有四間大商店,分別為新高堂書店、大倉本店、西尾商會、什利茶舖。新高堂書店位於榮町為當時最大的書店販售各類教科用書,以出版圖書與明信片享有盛名,1945年以後為東方出版社,新高堂隔鄰為出羽商店與佐藤時計(鐘錶)店,以大型掛鐘為招牌;大倉本店,1945年後為正中書局,現為正中大樓;西尾商店(今金石堂書店)主要販賣寫真機器和相關材料藥品;什利茶舖原為府前街郵便局,1922年改為榮町郵便局。
本町通和榮町通的街景常出現於日治時期的明信片中,代表著當時臺北市最繁華的街廓,商店並列商業殷盛之況。今日重慶南路一段與衡陽路一帶依舊熱鬧、商家林立,承繼著日治時期的榮景。
關鍵字詞:
榮町通、本町通、臺北新公園、重慶南路、衡陽路
延伸閱讀:
1.國立臺灣歷史博物館館藏:明信片:臺北榮町通り,2002.007.0083。
2.國立臺灣歷史博物館館藏:(臺北)本町通り,2001.008.0359。

相關文物

國立臺灣歷史博物館著作權所有©2013 National Museum of Taiwan History. All Rights reserved.
館址:70946臺南市安南區長和路一段250號  電話:06-3568889  傳真:06-3564981