“Rear Mountains”

“Rear Mountains”

Map:“Rear Mountains”
During the Qing Dynasty “Rear Mountain” was originally indigenous territory, and its administrative area did not fall under China's jurisdiction. However, the Kavalan Hall, Hengchun County and Beinan Hall were subsequently established, and after Taiwan Province was formed, Yilan County grew larger. From a territorial point of view, during the Qing Dynasty “Rear Mountain” covered almost the entire area of eastern Taiwan, but it was eventually reduced to today's Hualien and Taitung County. As the territory of “Rear Mountain” gradually diminished, it signified the Han Chinese people's expansion into eastern Taiwan, as well as the greater impact of migration and land reclamation on the indigenous population.

Related Exhibits

National Museum of Taiwan History LOGO
Ministry of Culture LOGO
Facebook Fan Page

Copyright National Museum of Taiwan History All © 2011 National Museum of Taiwan History. All Rights reserved.
Locations: No.250, Sec 1, Changhe Rd., Annan District, Tainan City 70946, Taiwan
Tel: +886-6 -3568889 Fax: +886-6-3564981